9 de Octubre FC are back to back Futsal Canadian Champions

For the 2nd consecutive year, 9 de Octubre FC (pronounced nueve, not nine) has represented Ontario in the Futsal Canadian Championship in Calgary, and for the 2nd consecutive year they’re Futsal Canadian Champions. This is an incredible feat that should not go unnoticed.

Before meeting Sporting Montreal FC in the finals, they played teams from Nunavut, Saskatchewan, and Winnipeg. Needless to say, 9 de Octubre FC went undefeated throughout the tournament, eventually beating Sporting Montreal FC 5-3 in the final.

The team was led by;

Matthew Rios (Captain)

Joshua Lemos (Finals MVP)

Andy Baquero (Tournament MVP)

Almost 4000km away in Nicaragua, Team Canada futsal team is one win away from qualifying for the FIFA Futsal World Cup this fall in Uzbekistan. But to get there, the Canadian men will have to get past reigning CONCACAF champion Costa Rica in quarterfinal play today (2pm) at the CONCACAF Futsal Championship at Polideportivo Alexis Arguello in Managua, Nicaragua

The Canadians go in as underdogs given Costa Rica is in search of its fourth straight CONCACAF title and fifth overall. But Canadian Loïc Kwemi, who plays for Evolution Futsal Club Montreal, leads the tournament with six goals after the group stage.

We bring this up is because players from Sporting Montreal FC and 9 de Octubre FC, the two finalists in the last 2 year’s for the Canadian futsal club championship, dominate the 14-man Canadian roster called up for the 2024 CONCACAF Futsal Championship. Sporting Montreal has seven players on the Canadian roster with another three coming from 9 de Octubre FC Toronto, which won 5-3 when the two sides met in Calgary.

Representing 9 de Octubre FC on the Team Canada roster are;

John Smits

Daniel Chamale

Raheem Rose

Big congrats to the back to back champs;

2024 National Championship Roster

1 – Darren Boahene

2 – Andy Baquero (Tournament MVP)

5 – Roberto Galle

6 – Matthew Rios (Captain)

7 – Jesse Oliver

8 – Ozzy Hussein

9 – Felipe Rios

10 – Joshua Paredes

11 – Julian Desousa

17 – Mauricio Chamale

18 – Junior Escobar

19 – Gasper Caruso

20 – Christian Samaniego

30 – Joshua Lemos (Finals MVP)

2024 Coaching & Manager Staff

  1. Josue Jaramillo
  2. Nicole Carvalho
  3. Joseluis Siguencia-Vargas
  4. Christopher Siguencia-Vargas
  5. Gabriel Sosa
Shopping Cart
Scroll to Top
Send this to a friend